With around two months before Brexit day 1, a cross-party group of MPs are poised to support the Cooper-Boles amendment to the European Union Withdrawal Act 2018 to take a no-deal Brexit off the table.

Amendment (b) to section 13 of the European Union Withdrawal Act 2018 is sponsored by MPs Yvette Cooper, Nicky Morgan, Norman Lamb, Stewart Hosie, Ben Lake and Hilary Benn. It’s supported by dozens of MPs.

If the amendment is passed by MPs this week it potentially adds an option for Parliament to force a vote on extending Article 50, delaying Brexit to allow more time to negotiate the UK’s withdrawal from the EU and breaking the Brexit deadlock.

Is a No-Deal Brexit a Credible Negotiation Position?

Is a No-Deal Brexit a Credible Negotiation Position?

Tweet this Article

What Do Others Think?

Delayers, Leavers and Remainers lie in wait as Brexit battle is rejoined in Westminster

This plan has attracted broad support because it concentrates on one of the few things there is a majority for among MPs – avoiding a no-deal Brexit. The Cooper-Boles amendment gives parliament the power to order May to ask for Brexit to be delayed for a set amount of time, should no agreement be reached by the end of February. It would delay the Brexit cliff edge, but not deal with how to remove it entirely. A similar cross-party amendment, which does not bind the hands of the government, has also been tabled.

by Michael Savage Policy Editor at the Observer.

Amid scores of Brexit amendments and chaos in parliament, there are only two votes that really matter – here’s why

The Cooper-Boles plan is to take no-deal Brexit “off the table” by requiring Theresa May to seek to postpone our departure from the EU if a deal has not been approved in time.

The vote will be no mere expression of opinion. If the amendment is passed, it will change the rules of the Commons to allow a bill drafted by Cooper and Boles to be rushed into law on 5 February.

by John Rentoul Chief Political Commentator, The Independent.

Amendment (b) to section 13 of the European Union Withdrawal Act 2018 Text

At end, add “and is conscious of the serious risks arising for the United Kingdom from exit without a withdrawal agreement and political declaration and orders accordingly that—

(1) On 5 February 2019—

(a) Standing Order No. 14(1) (which provides that government business shall have precedence at every sitting save as provided in that order) shall not apply;

(b) a Business of the House Motion in connection with the European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 3) Bill in the name of at least 10 Members, including at least four Members elected to the House as members of at least four different parties and at least two backers of that Bill shall stand as the first item of business;

(c) that motion may be proceeded with until any hour though opposed, shall not be interrupted at the motion of interruption, and, if under discussion when business is postponed, under the provisions of any standing order, may be resumed, though opposed, after the interruption of business; and Standing Order No. 41A (Deferred divisions) will not apply;

(d) at the conclusion of debate on that motion, the questions necessary to dispose of proceedings on that motion (including for the purposes of Standing Order No. 36(2) (Questions to be put following closure of debate)) shall include the questions on any amendments selected by the Speaker which may then be moved; and

(e) the second reading of the European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 3) Bill shall stand as the first order of the day; and

(2) In respect of the European Union (Withdrawal) (No. 3) Bill, notices of Amendments, new Clauses and new Schedules to be moved in Committee may be accepted by the Clerks at the Table before the Bill has been read a second time.

MPs Supporting the Cooper-Boles amendment

Nick Boles
Liz Kendall
Sir Oliver Letwin
Mr Dominic Grieve
Chris Bryant
Rachel Reeves
Ms Harriet Harman
Seema Malhotra
Clive Efford
Ian Murray
Shabana Mahmood
Gareth Thomas
Jack Dromey
Lucy Powell
Anna Turley
Helen Goodman
Richard Burden
Stephen Kinnock
David Hanson
Vernon Coaker
Alex Cunningham
Rosie Duffield
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods
Ian C. Lucas
Diana Johnson
Alex Sobel
Steve McCabe
Hywel Williams
Liz Saville Roberts
Jonathan Edwards
Stephen Doughty
Anna McMorrin
Lloyd Russell-Moyle
Stella Creasy
Dr Phillip Lee
Guto Bebb
Mary Creagh
Rushanara Ali
Catherine McKinnell
Emma Reynolds
Mr Jonathan Djanogly
Stuart C. McDonald
Tonia Antoniazzi
Andy Slaughter
Ms Karen Buck
Mr Edward Vaizey
Lilian Greenwood
Debbie Abrahams
Wes Streeting
Neil Coyle
Jo Swinson
Stephen Timms
Wera Hobhouse
Preet Kaur Gill
Mr Adrian Bailey
Heidi Allen
Owen Smith
Anna Soubry
Kate Green
Alison McGovern
Geraint Davies
Mr Pat McFadden
Dr Alan Whitehead
Jamie Stone
Sir Edward Davey
Mrs Sharon Hodgson
Bill Esterson
Mr Ben Bradshaw
Mr David Lammy
Mrs Madeleine Moon
Darren Jones
Martyn Day
Tom Brake
Daniel Zeichner
John Woodcock
Stephen Gethins
Mr Clive Betts
Mike Gapes
Matt Western
Layla Moran
Christine Jardine
Kerry McCarthy
Angela Smith
Dr Paul Williams
Paul Farrelly
Dr Rupa Huq
Ged Killen
Chris Stephens
Neil Gray
Carol Monaghan
Tommy Sheppard
Alison Thewliss
John McNally
Marion Fellows
Patricia Gibson
Drew Hendry
Dame Margaret Hodge

Have an opinion, have Your Say by commenting below.